Bigsley the Oaf

Big Big Thing

Posted in Uncategorized by bigsleytheoaf on April 15, 2013

I have a big big thing I want to say, and these ten+ years of writing have been an attempt to say it and goddamn it I keep feeling like I’m getting close but then I’m not any closer – not any closer – not any closer – it’s like

it’s like 

it’s like

CAN’T YOU SEE YOU’RE LIMITED

JUST STOP, EVERYONE STOP

it’s like it’s like

way out past nihilism where there’s something real again, that’s where we can meet, but we can’t meet there unless you go through nihilism – can’t you see that it’s the gulf separating you from what really is

If you stare into the sun your eyes will burn, but if your eyes stray too far from it you will see only shadows and reflection, so where to look? 

Close your eyes and look into yourself, deep deep

DEEP DEEP DEEPER DEEPER

Nothing comfortable, ever –

Every anxiety, every sigh, every pain, every breath, is a chance to finally turn yourself inside out and goddamn it

WHY CAN’T YOU SEE THE BIG THING?
WHY CAN’T I SHOW YOU THE BIG THING?

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jen B said, on April 15, 2013 at 3:46 am

    I’ll Meet You There
    by Rumi

    Out beyond ideas of wrongdoing and rightdoing
    there is a field. I will meet you there.

    When the soul lies down in that grass,
    the world is too full to talk about.
    Ideas, language, even the phrase each other
    doesn’t make any sense.

    • bigsleytheoaf said, on April 15, 2013 at 5:09 am

      I’m Rumi! Surprise!

      I’m going to read some Rumi tonight!

      • Graham said, on April 18, 2013 at 9:55 pm

        Well, if it helps, I can see it, but I won’t be able to explain to you in words that you understand that I can see it. But I’ll try. Your wanting to say it is you saying it. Your closeness is you getting closer. It sounds like bullshit, but it isn’t, and that’s how you know. It’s the thing, the one thing, but also all things, and without names, because the name is the Sun and the perceptions of the name are its Shadows. Naming is the origin of all particular things. I can see the Big Thing. To quote Tuline, “If I can learn to understand this language without words, I can learn to understand the World.”


Leave a Reply

