Bigsley the Oaf

June 2- International Day of Silence

Posted in Uncategorized by bigsleytheoaf on March 16, 2012

I want to start a tradition. I want the origin to be devoid of ego, style, bias, and attachment. I want it to be the result of a pure and universal human recognition that the present level of noise in society is unacceptable.

I propose a day devoted to silence.

It is self-contradictory for this day to have an agenda – it has none. If you don’t want to be silent then please don’t. It isn’t meant to be a group action – it is a collective one. Do it if it feels right. If it doesn’t feel right, please ask yourself why. If it doesn’t feel right, let’s talk about it. It’s OK. I don’t mind.

I believe that we are going crazy, fractally – individually, as communities, and as a world. If you think about what you observe on a daily basis you can come to no other conclusion. There is no option but to stop and return to our basic, quiet selves.

What does it mean to be silent, in this context? Stop telling everyone what you believe – no arguments, no discussion. Stop listening to noisy media – TV, news, online forums, blogs, commercials, advertisement. Do not act in a way to cause strife. Don’t concentrate on problems as such. Just be quiet and enjoy the day. Think, smile. Treat people gently – treat yourself gently.

Society has problems – it will always – but this is no reason to run around like headless chickens. We need to calm down. We need to shut the fuck up. I believe that if we can stop talking then the healing can begin. Do you?

If this resonates with you then I would appreciate it if you spread the word. I will create a website soon with a description of the day and a form for people to submit their thoughts. Until that website is available I would appreciate it if you would spread this blog post.

Like all contemporary phenomena, this one will be successful to the extent that it remains decentralized. I do not claim credit for it, and I hope that when you spread information about it you will not relate it to me. If I have one hope it would be that this becomes a recurrent and popular holiday that belongs to everyone equally.

I’ll be saying more about my thoughts in the weeks to come, but I’d really like to hear what you have to say.

Leave a Reply

