Bigsley the Oaf

Rare Personal Details

Posted in Uncategorized by bigsleytheoaf on January 24, 2011

Somehow I never like to post about actual, concrete events in my life. I think of them as below (my/your/any potential) interest.

But my life has been somewhat interesting, emotionally, recently.

I’ve been throwing out a lot of shit from our apartment in Moscow. Thousands of dollars worth. It’s very strange to walk down the street and see a woman kneeling in the snow, doing Hail Mary’s, begging for change, then go back to your warm, large apartment and throw out hundreds of dollars of NAILS.

It’s real weird to mechanically sort through the remnants of many lives. The types of things I’m throwing away – childrens toys, tools, letters, school notes – these undoubtedly had/have real sentimental value for people. But to make any progress I have to maintain an extremely un-empathetic, cold, even sterile/machinelike stance.

On many fronts, apparently.

I went to a Russian class today. It was full of snooty Europeans. Very annoying. The quality of the teaching was extremely high though. The teacher was prim and curt and perfect. She knew exactly what we didn’t know and how to accomodate. She made fun of this one Turkish guy for being an idiot. She spoke loudly and clearly. She was relatively hot.

I went to Red Square yesterday at night. It was all lit up (Saint Basil’s Cathedral, The Kremlin, etc.) and ГУМ was beaming. We went to Гастромон Номер 1 (Number 1 food shop) and got delicious items. We got smoked eel! And hot russian mustard! And salted salmon (not smoked!). Oh my god you have no idea how great the smoked meat selection is, here. Jen hates it when I get the mackerel… But I cannot DO without the mackerel. It is hot smoked.

Russian women wear provocative clothing, even in the winter. Beautiful fur coats (beautiful!). Leather boots. Gloves. Stockings. Ah! They also wear too much makeup, though. And when they smile it’s not so nice as when they don’t smile. It is very tough to not touch their coats. Today I was pressed up against one on the subway. It was fairly nice.

In England (we stopped over in England before coming to Moscow) we visited London and spoke with Jen’s friend Anya. She seems so sad. It inspired many ideas of a complicated nature.

As it turns out, life takes time.

Leave a Reply

