Bigsley the Oaf

Concept and Enlightenment

Posted in Uncategorized by bigsleytheoaf on December 9, 2009

Imagine me a balloon. I have been suddenly enlightened, before, to drift up among the clouds. But each time this would happen my gas would leak and I would drift down, down. Most of the days of my life have found me lain limp upon the ground.

But I recall my short sojurns into the sky. Each one carries me higher. Perhaps someday I will reach a height so great that I cannot return from it.

Consider the statement ‘Conceptual understanding is the root of “suffering.”‘

There are too many ways to interpret this statement – after all, what are “concept,” “understanding,” or “suffering?” You cannot know its meaning.

Consider instead its length.

Consider whether I believe it or not.

Consider what it would mean for me to believe such a short statement.

Consider a piece of sea glass, tumbled among the sea for long years, smooth and brilliant. It is “the sea can make sharp shards of glass smooth and soft.” And these words that it is, too, have many interpretations. But it is one thing, the sea glass.

Consider the value of the seaglass. Is it good? Is it bad? Of the statement; good? bad?

‘Conceptual understanding is the root of “suffering.”‘ This statement is merely my interpretation of my own mind, stripped of its unnecessaries, its memories, its long chains of deduction, standing brilliant and free.

Consider the act of comparing the sea glass to its implication. Consider the three: my statement, my mind, your interpretation of my statement.

My mind is the thing. Sea glass is the thing. Statements are merely reflections.

If you can bear the weight of all the world’s empty words you will become enlightened.

Leave a Reply

